PSU Men’s and Women’s Ice Hockey players named AHCA All-American Scholars

PSU Men’s and Women’s Ice Hockey players named AHCA All-American Scholars

Seven men and seven women recognized for academic success

            PLYMOUTH, N.H. – A total of 14 student-athletes from the Plymouth State University men's and women's ice hockey teams were among a group of 821 recognized by the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) as Krampade All-American Scholars.

            To be eligible for inclusion a student-athlete must attain a 3.60 grade point average each semester while participating in 40% of their school's games during the 2017-18 season. The 821 student-athletes comprised NCAA Division II and III men's and women's programs. Last month an additional 489 of their Division I counterparts were honored, for a total of 1,310 honorees in the second year of the program. A total of 1,261 athletes reached the standard in 2016-17.

            With seven honorees, the men's team made up the largest group of any Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference (MASCAC) school.

            The women's team, which also had seven scholar athletes, trailed only the University of Massachusetts Boston among New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) schools. The Beacons had eight athletes earn the distinction.

            Representing the men's team were junior Quinn Carroll (Amherst, N.H.), sophomores Victor Bergstrom (Angelholm, Sweden), Andreas Pettersson (Trollhattan, Sweden), Tim Larocque (Middleboro, Mass.) and Drake Longaker (San Jose, Calif.), along with freshmen Cole Crawford (Alpharetta, Ga.) and Jake Gerbner (Havertown, Pa.).

            Women's team honorees were seniors Courtney Evans (Fairbanks, Alaska) and Mariah Trupp (Topeka, Kan.), junior Kelsey Roy (Fort Collins, Colo.) and sophomores Kailey Jacobs (Westwood, Mass.), Maddie Kabasakalian (Kent, Conn.), Sydney Linnick (Highlands Ranch, Colo.) and Alie Louie (Mount Laurel, N.J.).

            The Plymouth State men, under the direction of eighth-year head coach Craig Russell, finished the season with a 19-5-2 record while winning its sixth regular season title in seven years. The top-seeded Panthers were upset in the semifinal round of the MASCAC Tournament.

            Second-year head coach Mykul Haun led the women's team to a 9-14-4 mark, the second-most wins in program history, while securing the program's first home playoff game and playoff win. PSU, the fourth seed, eventually fell to top-seeded Norwich University, who went on to claim the DIII National Championship.

            A complete list of AHCA All-American Scholars can be found at



– 30 –