PSC Athetics hands out Annual Department Awards

PLYMOUTH, N.H. - Six Plymouth State College student-athletes received special awards and 20 were recognized as Panther Award winners Tuesday night at the Athletic Department Awards Ceremony.

Senior men's skier Fred DeBaets (St. Sauveur, Quebec) and junior field hockey and women's lacrosse player Robin Hartman (Santa Maria, Cal.) were recipients of the Van A. Hartman/Vernon Kelly Awards. Named after former PSC athletic administrators, the awards are presented annually to the male and female students who has participated in at least two years of varsity athletics and is selected on the basis of scholarship, citizenship and dedication to the sport.

Senior ice hockey captain Erik Nadeau (Waterville, Maine) and senior field hockey and women's lacrosse player Courtney O'Sullivan (East Kingston, N.H.) were recipients of the John C. Foley Leadership Award. Named after the former PSC coach and administrator, the awards are presented annually to the senior male and female student-athletes who have exhibited outstanding leadership qualities during their athletic careers.

Senior women's skier Anda Curuta (Sibiu, Romania) received the Panther Athletic Club Award as PSC's Outstanding Female Athlete of the Year, both as a student-athlete and college citizen. Junior men's soccer player Magnus Eriksson (Arjang, Sweden) was the recipient of the Paul E. Arold Varsity Club Award, named in honor of the former PSC coach and presented to PSC's Outstanding Male Athlete of the Year, both as a student-athlete and college citizen.

The Panther coaching staff also recognized the winners of the "Panther Award" for their sport. PSC presents a Panther Award to the individual(s) in each sport who best represent Plymouth State on and off the field, with each of PSC's 18 teams setting its own specific criteria for the award.

The following are the 2000-01 Panther Award recipients:

Sport Name Class Hometown Field Hockey Sarah Lynch Jr. Belgrade Lakes, Maine Football Jason Marcell Sr. Stoughton, Mass. Men's Soccer Scott Laine Jr. Spencer, Mass. Women's Soccer Becky Kennedy Jr. West Springfield, Mass. Women's Tennis Jamie Hupper Sr. Merrimack, N.H. Women's Volleyball Stephanie Spiridakis Sr. Belmont, N.H. Men's Basketball Tony Martinez Sr. Barnstead, N.H. Women's Basketball Kate Fillion Sr. Littleton, N.H. Ice Hockey Erik Nadeau Sr. Waterville, Maine Men's Skiing Fred DeBaets Sr. St. Sauveur, Quebec Ryan Hulslander Sr. Merrimack, N.H. Women's Skiing Anda Curuta Sr. Sibiu, Romania Women's Swimming & Diving Allison Bregy Jr. Camden, Maine Wrestling Nate Kittredge Fr. Vergennes, VT Baseball Dakota Smith Sr. Rochester, N.H. Men's Lacrosse Sean Clancy Sr. Penfield, N.Y. Women's Lacrosse Courtney O'Sullivan Sr. East Kingston, N.H. Softball Kelly Anderson Sr. Exeter, N.H. Steph Ruel Sr. Biddeford, Maine Men's Tennis Eric Calderwood Fr. Merrimac, Mass.