Header Background

N.E. Football Writers Honor Three Panthers

PLYMOUTH, N.H. -- A total of 32 players from 19 schools have been named to the 1999 All-New England Division II/III All-Star team as selected by the New England Football Writers.

The team is made up of nine players from the Eastern Football Conference, seven players each from the Freedom Football Conference and the New England Football Conference, six players from the New England Small College Athletic Conference, and three players from the University of New Haven. The squad includes 26 seniors, four juniors, a graduate student, and a freshman.

Three Plymouth State players were selected to the All-Star Team: junior Chris Belmont (Campton, NH) on the offensive line, senior Sean Murphy (Eliot, Maine) on the defensive line, and senior safety Colt Meredith (Saugus, Mass.).

The team will be honored at the annual New England Football Writers Captains & Awards Banquet Thursday, December 9, at Lantana's Restaurant in Randolph, Massachusetts. People desiring further information should contact Dick Lipe at Bentley College (781) 891-2334.

-- 30 --