Header Background

PSU Football player to receive prestigious award

            BOSTON - Gridiron Club of Greater Boston president Tim Whelan announced Wednesday that Boston College linebacker Mark Herzlich (Wayne, PA) and Yale linebacker Bobby Abare (Acton, Mass.) are co-recipients of the 70th annual George "Bulger" Lowe Award for defense, and Holy Cross quarterback  Dominic Randolph (Amelia, OH) is the Lowe winner for offense. The trio heads an all-star roster of players, coaches and officials to be honored by club at its annual Bob Whelan College Football Awards Night on Thursday, January 15, 2009 at the Marriott Hotel in Burlington, Massachusetts. 

            The Bulger Lowe Award, "New England's Heisman Trophy" and one of America's oldest college football accolades, recognizes the six-state region's best players in the NCAA Bowl and Championship Divisions, formerly known as Division IA and IAA. The 13th annual Joe Zabilski Award, which recognizes the top collegiate players in Divisions II and III, will go to running back Jeff Mack (Milford, NH) of Plymouth State University and defensive lineman Cody Andrews (Holden, ME.) of Maine Maritime Academy. 

            The winners of the 63nd annual Nils V. "Swede" Nelson Award for exceptional achievement in academics, athletics, and sportsmanship, are defensive back Andrew Berry (Bel Air, MD) of Harvard in the Bowl/Championship divisions and offensive lineman James Oleinik (Ellicott City, MD) of Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Division II/III. 

            The club's New England head coaches of the year for 2008 are Jeff Jagodzinski of Boston College in the Bowl/Championship Divisions and Art Wilkins of American International College in Divisions II - III. Assistant coach of the year accolades go to Mike Browne, offensive line coach at Tufts, and Joel Lamb, offensive coordinator at Harvard. 

            The Gridiron Club will also present the Joseph V. McKenney Award for top collegiate football official to Atlantic Coast Conference head linesman Mike Kelley of Shrewsbury, Mass. The club's John Baronian Award for Lifetime Contribution to Football will be given to Ed Schluntz, former athletic director and head football coach at Brookline High School and former Harvard freshman football coach.

            Dinner tickets may be ordered by calling club secretary Dick Lawrence at (781) 231-0372, or by emailing gicinfo2008@gribclubofgreaterboston.com