Header Background

PSU Field Hockey to host ECAC Tournament game on Wednesday

PLYMOUTH, N.H. - The Plymouth State University field hockey team will make its sixth straight post-season appearance this Wednesday when the Panthers host Anna Maria College in the first round of the ECAC Division III New England Tournament.

The Panthers (12-5) received the third seed in the eight-team tournament, and will face sixth-seeded Anna Maria (11-5) Wednesday at Arold Field (1:30 p.m.) PSU, the defending champion, is also playing in the post-season for the 11th time in the past 13 seasons.

The other first round games on Wednesday are #8 Framingham State (9-8) visiting #1 Wellesley College (12-6), #7 Endicott College (12-6) at #2 Mount Holyoke College (12-7), and #5 Simmons College (12-6) at #4 Fitchburg State (13-5). The semifinals and finals are this Saturday and Sunday, Nov. 12-13, with the higher seeded teams hosting each game.

Plymouth State, led by sixth-year head coach Bonnie Lord, received the ECAC berth after capturing a share of the Little East Conference regular season title with a 9-2 mark. The Panthers were the top seed in the LEC Tournament but were upset in the semifinals by fourth-seeded Westfield State.

After participating in the NCAA Tournament three straight years from 2000-02, PSU will be making its third consecutive appearance in the ECAC Tournament. The Panthers were the fourth seed in 2003 and were upset by fifth-seeded Clark in the first round, 3-1. Plymouth State was the top seed last year and won the title with consecutive wins over eighth-seeded Worcester State, fourth-seeded Babson and second-seeded Wellesley.

Anna Maria claimed the sixth seed in the ECAC Tourney after finishing in a tie for second in the Commonwealth Coast Conference with a 5-3 mark. The Amcats were knocked out of the CCC Tournament in the semifinals by third-seeded Gordon, 4-1.

PSU is also making its 11th ECAC appearance. The Panthers' previous selections came in 1983, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1990, 1995, 1996, 1997, 2003, and 2004, with their only championships coming in 1987 and 2004.

-- 30 --