Little East Conference Preseason Field Hockey Poll released

Little East Conference Preseason Field Hockey Poll released

PSU voted runner-up in poll after sharing regular season title in 2015

            PAWTUCKET, R.I. – After sharing the Little East Conference regular season title a year ago, the Plymouth State University field hockey team has been picked to finish second in the conference this fall as the 2016 LEC Field Hockey Preseason Poll was announced.

            As voted upon by the LEC's 12 head coaches, Plymouth State garnered the second spot in this year's results, receiving one first-place vote. Three-time defending champion Keene State College has been selected as the preseason favorite for the third consecutive season with eight top votes.

            The Panthers finished the 2015 season with a 13-7 (9-2 LEC) record, tied at the top of the LEC standings with the Keene State and UMass Dartmouth. Under the leadership of head coach Bonnie Lord, the Panthers are looking to bounce back after a tough 1-0 loss to eighth-seeded Fitchburg State in the LEC quarterfinals. The Panthers will have senior forward Nicole Burgess (Mexico, Maine), an All-LEC First Team member and junior midfielder Katie Martin (Waterbury Center, Vt./Harwood Union), a Second Team All-LEC member leading the charge in 2016. Burgess finished second in the LEC with 13 goals last season and inside the Top-5 with 26 points.

            Conference play in Little East field hockey will consist of each team meeting each other once during the regular season, with the first interleague contests scheduled for Sept. 7. The top eight teams in the final regular season conference standings will participate in the Little East Tournament, with the tournament winner earning the league's automatic berth to the NCAA Division III Championship. 

Little East Conference

2016 Field Hockey Preseason Poll



First Place Votes

Total Points

1. Keene State



2. Plymouth State



3. UMass Dartmouth



4. Eastern Connecticut



5. Westfield State



6. Bridgewater State



7. Worcester State



8. Western Connecticut



9. Southern Maine



10. Fitchburg State



11. Framingham State



12. Salem State




 (Courtesy of the Little East Conference)

 -- 30 --