PSU Field Hockey student-athletes honored by NFHCA

PSU Field Hockey student-athletes honored by NFHCA

Nine Panthers named to National Academic Squad

            PLYMOUTH, N.H. – The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) has announced the 2018 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division III National Academic Squad and nine members of the Plymouth State University field hockey team were among the 1,746 student-athletes to receive the honor.

            The National Academic Squad program honors student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.30 or higher through the first semester of the 2018-19 academic year.

            Achieving the honor for the Panthers were senior Patty Newhard (South Dennis, Mass.), juniors Keeley Bartolini (Topsham, Maine), Kaihley Rafferty (Salem, Conn.) and Maddie Kabasakalian (Kent, Conn.), sophomores Haley Wakefield (South Paris, Maine), Kaitlyne Silva (Seekonk, Mass.) and Meaghan Allard (Amherst, N.H.) and freshmen Maddie Ruffing (Durham, N.C.) and Shannon Ford (Bow, N.H.). Kabasakalian is a three-time winner, while Rafferty, Wakefield and Newhard earn recognition for the second time.

            Plymouth State was one of nine Little East Conference (LEC) schools to have student-athletes included, along with Bridgewater State, Castleton, Eastern Connecticut State, Keene State, Salem State, Southern Maine, WestConn and Westfield State. Williams College led all institutions with 23 selections.

            Last week the NFHCA announced the National Academic Team Award honorees, which included Plymouth State. A full list of the honorees can be found at the NFHCA website at

            Led by 19-year head coach Bonnie Lord, the Panthers finished the season with a 5-11 mark, while going 5-7 in Little East play. PSU finished tied for eighth in the league standings, but missed out on the postseason for just the second time under Lord's guidance after losing the tiebreaker for the final playoff spot.



– 30 –