Header Background

PSC #2 seed in ECAC Tourney

PLYMOUTH, N.H. - The Plymouth State College men's basketball team is headed to the post-season for the second straight season and the sixth time in eight years.

The Panthers, 21-7 overall, received the second seed in this week's Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) New England Division III Tournament, and will host seventh-seeded Wheaton College Wednesday at 7:30 p.m. at Foley Gymnasium. Admission to the game is free.

"It's an honor and privilege to go to the post-season," said PSC head coach John Scheinman. "This year's field is very good, one of the best ECAC fields in recent memory. I'm happy that our players get to continue their great season."

PSC earned the high seed in the ECACs after finishing second in the competitive Little East Conference during the regular season with a 10-4 mark. The Panthers advanced to the LEC Tournament championship game, where they were edged in the closing seconds by Western Connecticut, 65-63.

The rest of the ECAC New England Tournament first-round games Wednesday include #1 Babson hosting #8 MIT, #3 Keene State entertaining #6 Gordon College, and #4 Endicott playing at home against #5 Albertus Magnus. The semifinals are Saturday at the sites of the two highest remaining seeds, with the championship contest slated for Sunday at the home of the highest remaining seed.

Plymouth State is making its eighth appearance in the ECAC Tournament. The Panthers have advanced to the championship game in their last two trips, losing at home to Williams in the 1999 final, 103-88, and falling at UMass Dartmouth in last year's title contest, 67-63. PSC also participated in the ECAC Tournament in 1989, 1991, 1994, 1997 and 1998, and played in the NCAA Tournament in 1996.

Wheaton College, PSC's first-round opponent, is making its fifth trip to the ECAC Tournament, and first since 2000. The Lyons, 18-9 overall, posted the second most wins in the 14-year history of the program. Wheaton is coming off an 88-66 loss in the semifinals of the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Tournament to eventual champion Clark.