Header Background

PSU Men’s Ice Hockey players named to ECAC Northeast All-Academic Team


- The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) announced the 2006 ECAC Northeast men's ice hockey conference All-Academic Team on Thursday, and eight Plymouth State University student-athletes were recognized.

            All 16 ECAC Northeast schools were represented on the team and a total of 78 student-athletes were honored.  To be named to the All-Academic Team, student-athletes must have completed one full academic year at his institution, maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better, and competed in at least half of the team's games (a third of the team's minutes for goalies).

            Representing Plymouth State on the ECAC Northeast All-Academic Team are juniors Derek Avakian (Edgartown, Mass.), Mykul Haun (Alameda, Calif.), Andy Herlihy (Bow, N.H.), and Goose LaCroix (Moretown, Vt.) and sophomores Deni Bojadzic (Gothenburg, Sweden), Chris Cadieux (Nashua, N.H.), Karl Helgesson (Lerum, Sweden), and Topo LaCroix (Moretown, Vt.)

            Plymouth State finished with a 16-9-1 overall record under coach Brett Tryder, and a 13-2 mark in the Northeast, good for third place.  The 16 wins this season is the third-most in school history, trailing only the 1993-94 team that finished 17-8-0 and the 1985-86 Panthers that own the school record with a 19-6-0 mark.

 -- 30 --