Header Background

Another post-season honor for PSU Men’s Hockey player

         PLYMOUTH, N.H. – Another post-season honor has come the way of the leading scorer of the Plymouth State University’s men’s ice hockey team this past season

Chris Chambers          Senior Chris Chambers (Crofton, Md.) has been named to the New England Division II/III All-Star team by the New England Hockey Writers. He will be recognized at the annual hockey writers’ banquet, which will be held at 6:00 p.m. on Tuesday, April 13 at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass. All awards and All-Star teams will be presented at the gala. All coaches, student-athletes, family members and friends are encouraged to attend Tuesday’s banquet. Contact Pete Souris at (781) 245-2122 for information on attending this event. Cost is $35 per person.

         The honor is the latest in a string of post-season awards for Chambers (right), who was named Massachusetts State College Athletic Conference (MASCAC) Player of the Year and First Team All-Conference last month. He led the MASCAC in scoring this season with 18 goals, 27 assists and 45 points in 27 games, and was a finalist for the 2010 Joe Concannon Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England playing at the D-II/III level.

         Chambers, who finished his collegiate career third on PSU’s all-time scoring list with 117points (58 goals, 59 assists), made a successful professional debut last month with the Johnstown (Pa.) Chiefs of the East Coast Hockey league.

         The New England Hockey Writers Division II/III All-Star teams and awards are determined by voting by Division II and III coaches along with respective media outlets throughout New England. The 2009-10 New England Men’s Division II/III teams were composed in a different manner than past years. Instead of splitting the squads into ECAC East/NESCAC and ECAC Northeast All-Stars, all Division II and III teams in New England were voted on as a whole with an expanded number of spots.

         For more complete listings of All-Stars and awards, including extensive archives, check www.newenglandallstars.com.

2009-10 New England Men’s Division II/III All-Stars

Ryan Klingensmith (Norwich)
Scott Barchard (Tufts)
Cole Anderson (Amherst)
Kyle Shearer-Hardy (Bowdoin)
Eric Tallent (Norwich)
Paul Conter (Southern Maine)
Casey Fazekas (Babson)
Shaun Jameson (Wentworth)
Greg Eskedjian (Norwich)

Coleman Noonan (Saint Anselm)
Alex Smigelski (Williams)
Martin Drolet (Middlebury)
Blake Forkey (Norwich)
Chad Anderson (Norwich)
Skylur Jameson (Wentworth)
Jeff Olitch (Wentworth)
Alex Muse (New England College)
Chris Chambers (Plymouth State)

2009-10 New England Hockey Awards

Division II/III Coach of the Year
Mike McShane (Norwich)

Division II/III Most Valuable Player
Coleman Noonan (St. Anselm)

Parker/York Award – Contribution to New England Hockey
Ned Bunyon (NIHOA) 

--- 30 ---