Header Background

PSC Men's Lacrose player earns weekly honor

PLYMOUTH, N.H. - A Plymouth State College men's lacrosse player has received the top weekly honor from the Pilgrim League for his defensive performance in two Panther games last week.

Junior Sean Murphy (Eliot, ME) was named Player of the Week in the Pilgrim League. Murphy led PSC's defense to a 1-1 week, including a 13-8 conference win at UMass Dartmouth that clinched a Pilgrim League play-off berth for the Panthers.

The 5'10", 225 pound junior helped hold UMD's scoring leader Mike Monturio (ranked fifth nationally with an average of 7.0 points a game) to no goals and a single assist. UMD's goal total equaled its second lowest of the season, as the Corsairs were limited to just two goals in the second half.

Plymouth State has wrapped up the regular season with an overall record of 7-7 under first-year head coach Bob Ewell. The Panthers, who earned a play-off bid by finishing 4-1 in the Northwest Division if the Pilgrim League, open post-season play with a semi-final game Wednesday (May 5) at Babson (4:00 p.m.). The Beavers shared the top spot in the Pilgrim League's Southeast Division, but earned the top seed in the division on a tiebreaker over MIT and Western New England.

Northwest Division champion Eastern Connecticut hosts MIT in the other semi-final on Wednesday. The Pilgrim League championship game is slated for Saturday (May 8) or Sunday (May 9) at the site of the highest remaining seed (Time TBA).

PANTHER NOTES: Sophomore Jim Martocchio (Simsbury, CT) tallied a season-high seven goals in the win over UMD, and in the process broke his own single-season school record for goals. He found the net 55 times this spring, surpassing the 53 he tallied last season. He is also just the fifth player in school history to reach the 100-career-goals milestone.....Senior Josh Perry (Falmouth, MA), who leads the team with 65 points (26 goals, 39 assists), has jumped to fourth place at PSC in both career assists (97) and points (186). In the career scoring department, he trails only Craig Keenhold (200 points from 1989-92), Steve Moltisanti (219 from 1970-73), and all-time leader Scott Walden (323 from 1993-96).

-- 30 --