PSU Men’s Lacrosse players earn NEILA recognition

PSU Men’s Lacrosse players earn NEILA recognition

Four Panthers named to Senior All-Academic Team

            PLYMOUTH, N.H. – Four members of the Plymouth State University men's lacrosse team were honored by the New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (NEILA) when the league announced its Senior All-Academic Team on Tuesday morning.

            Seniors Jake Burns (Salem, N.H.), Casey Elkins (Stow, Mass.), Paul Luongo (Northborough, Mass.) and Chris Waterbury (Clinton, Conn.) were all recognized for the Panthers.

            Student-athletes are nominated by their head coaches in Divisions I, II and III and teams are comprised of those who have excelled in the classroom and on the field over the course of their career. To be eligible a student-athlete must have senior academic standing, a cumulative GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, and be a significant enough of a player that he was at least nominated for All-Conference consideration.

            A total of 128 seniors across all three divisions were honored, while 90 student-athletes from 38 different Division III institutions earned the recognition. Wesleyan University led all DIII schools with seven selections, while Rivier University and Clark University had six each. With four selections, Plymouth State had the most of the six Little East Conference (LEC) schools included. Castleton University and the University of Massachusetts Boston each had two, while University of Southern Maine, Eastern Connecticut State University and Western Connecticut State University both had one honoree.

            Under 11th-year head coach Gordon Webb, Plymouth State ended the year with an 8-8 mark while going 6-2 in LEC play. The six conference wins established a new program high and were good enough to finish second in the regular season standings, matching a program best. PSU entered the LEC Tournament as the second seed and topped UMass Boston in the semifinal round to advance to the title game for the second time in program history, but fell to Keene State in the championship game.

            Click here to see the complete 2019 NEILA Senior All-Academic Team.





– 30 –