Header Background

PSU Men’s Soccer seeded third in ECAC New England Tournament

PLYMOUTH, N.H. - The Plymouth State University men's soccer team will play in the ECAC Division III New England Tournament for the third straight season this Wednesday when the Panthers host Albertus Magnus College in a first-round game.

The Panthers (11-3-4) received the third seed in the eight-team tournament, and will face sixth-seeded Albertus Magnus (9-7-3) Wednesday at Panther Field (5:00 p.m.) Plymouth State is making its eighth post-season appearance in the last nine years and the 11th in the past 13 years.

The other first round games on Wednesday are #8 Wentworth (9-9) visiting #1 Clark University (13-3-2), #7 Castleton State (9-7-1) at #2 Rhode Island College (9-5-5), and #5 Lasell (11-6-2) at #4 Norwich (12-5-1). The semifinals and finals are this Saturday and Sunday, Nov. 12-13, with the higher seeded teams hosting each game.

Plymouth State, led by fourth-year head coach Rob Wright, received the ECAC berth after finishing in a tie for third in the Little East Conference during the regular season with a 4-2-1 mark. The Panthers were knocked out of the LEC Tournament on penalty kicks by second-seeded Rhode Island College.

PSU was the eighth seed in last year's ECAC tourney and gave a strong showing in a 1-0 first-round loss at top-seeded MIT. The second seed in the 2003 ECACs, PSU tied seventh-seeded Salve Regina in the first-round game and advanced on penalty kicks (3-1), but then lost in overtime to Keene State in the semifinals, 3-2.

Albertus Magnus received the sixth seed in this year's ECAC tourney after finishing in third place during the regular season in the Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC). The Falcons advanced past Emmanuel on penalty kicks in the first round of the GNAC Tournament before being defeated by Johnson & Wales in the semifinals, 5-1.

PSU, which has made 16 NCAA appearances, is playing in its 10th ECAC Tournament. The Panthers' previous selections came in 1973, 1981, 1985, 1993, 1994, 1999, 2001, 2003, and 2004, winning championships in '81, ‘85 and ‘01.

-- 30 --