Header Background

PSU Men’s Soccer captures Roger Williams Turfer Classic

(Game Box

            BRISTOL, R.I. - Senior Semir Mehmedovic (Zvornik, Bosnia/Franklin, N.H., High School) scored the game- and tournament-winning goal three minutes into overtime Sunday afternoon as Plymouth State University's men's soccer team defeated Roger Williams University, 1-0, to capture the fifth annual Roger Williams Turfer Classic.

            Mehmedovic beat two defenders to a ball off a long pass from freshman Matt Anderson (Shaker Heights, Ohio), and chipped the ball over the keeper and into the goal at the 93:28 mark for the tournament-winner.  Mehmedovic, who also scored the only goal of the game in Saturday's 1-0 opening round victory over Ithaca College, was named the Offensive MVP and was also a member of the All-Tournament team.

            Two other Panthers joined Mehmedovic on the AllTournament Team - freshman defender freshman Joakim Martinsson (Morlunda, Sweden) and freshman midfielder Parker Spear (Sodus Point, N.Y.)

            Unlike Saturday's first Plymouth State game, the statistical totals in Sunday's game were fairly even.  PSU had a 17-15 advantage in shots and Roger Williams had more corker kicks by a 6-4 count.  The Panthers were out-shot Saturday by Ithaca 16-8, and trailed in corner kicks, 7-2.

            PSU freshman goalkeeper Bjorn Ohlsson (Halmstad, Sweden) posted his second straight shutout victory, stopping seven shots by the Hawks.

            Plymouth State, 2-0-0, is back on the pitch Wednesday with a non-conference match-up at Salem State College (6:00 p.m.). Roger Williams, 2-1-0, will take on Johnson & Wales University Wednesday at 4:00 p.m. 

All Tournament Team:
Dennis Kane - Fitchburg College
Patrick Higgins - Fitchburg College
Matt Baluzy - Ithaca College
Jeff Geyer - Ithaca College
Chris Guerrini - Roger Williams University
Andres Daza - Roger Williams University
Billy Kissane - Roger Williams University
Semir Mehmedovic - Plymouth State University
Joakim Martinsson - Plymouth State University
Parker Spear - Plymouth State University

Offensive MVP: Semir Medovic - Plymouth State University
Defensive MVP: Justin Plourde - Roger Williams University

Tournament Champion: Plymouth State University 

(Courtesy of Roger Williams Sports Information)

 -- 30 --