PSU represented at NCAA Men’s Indoor Track & Field Championships

PSU represented at NCAA Men’s Indoor Track & Field Championships

Brunnette places 14th in 3,000 meters for Panthers

            NAPERVILLE, Ill. – The top distance runner on the Plymouth State University men's track & field team made his first appearance at the NCAA Division III Men's Indoor Track & Field Championships Saturday afternoon, competing at the championships hosted by North Central College at the Al B. Carius Track at Res/Rec Center.

            Sophomore Sam Brunnette (Newport, Vt.) placed 14th in the 3,000 meters for Plymouth State, finishing the race in a time of 8:34.05. He finished more than 15 seconds behind the winner, Williams College senior Peter Hale (8:17.76) and nearly two seconds behind 13th-place finisher, senior Matthew Deyo of MIT. Brunnette, who was third in the race among sophomores, is the first Panther to compete at the NCAA Track & Field Championships since the varsity program was reinstated two years ago.

            "I'm very proud of Sam," said PSU head coach John Ostler. "Getting the experience of racing at this level is so vital. He executed his race plan perfectly. He just found out that runners at this raceare very good at covering moves and don't give away territory."



NCAA Indoor Track & Field

NCAA Division III Championships, North Central College – Naperville, Ill.

Saturday, Mar. 11, 2017



* Brunnette's time was more than 10 seconds off his school-record mark of 8:20.95, set last weekend at a final qualifying meet at Tufts University.

* Brunnette was the Little East Conference Men's Indoor Track Athlete of the Year after winning LEC championships in the 3000 meters (8:49.45) and mile (4:17.78) one month ago.


Event 12  Men 3000 M


    DIII Meet: $ 8:10.40  3/15/2014   John Crain, North Central                 

    Facility: # 8:11.42  2016        John Crain, North Central                 

    Name                    Year School                  Finals  Points        



  1 Peter Hale                   SR Williams               8:17.76   10           

  2 Nick Petersson            SR Wis.-Eau Claire        8:19.78    8           

  3 Tanner Osing              SR Augustana (Ill.)       8:21.58    6            

  4 Benjamin Fazio            SR RPI                    8:21.86    5           

  5 Alec Bass                 JR Dubuque                8:22.65    4           

  6 Ernie Pitone              SR Widener                8:23.58    3           

  7 Dhruvil Patel             SO North Central          8:23.62    2           

  8 Jaryd Flank               SR Muhlenberg             8:23.96    1           

  9 Tim Nichols               SR Tufts                  8:24.47                

10 Darin Lau                 JR Wis.-Eau Claire        8:24.91                

11 Zach Hird                 SO North Central          8:25.78                

12 David Chelimo             SR Colby                  8:29.00                

13 Matthew Deyo              SR MIT                    8:32.12                 

14 Sam Brunnette             SO Plymouth State         8:34.05                

15 Dennis Maloney            SO MIT                    8:36.38                

-- 30 --