Header Background

PSU Softball earns berth in ECAC New England Tournament

            PLYMOUTH, N.H. - The Plymouth State University softball team has received an Eastern College Athletic Conference post-season berth for the second year in a row.

            The Panthers were selected Monday to the ECAC Division III New England Tournament, the seventh post-season berth in the program's history and second consecutive.  PSU (22-16) is the #6 seed in this year's tourney, and will travel to third-seeded Saint Joseph's College of Maine (29-13) for a first-round game Wednesday at 4:00 p.m.

            There are three other first-round games on Wednesday.  Defending champion and top-seeded Brandeis University (25-15) will host eighth-seeded Curry College (27-16); defending runner-up and second-seeded Keene State College (26-14) entertains seventh-seeded Salve Regina University (25-19-1) and fourth-seeded Western New England College (29-14) plays host to fifth-seeded Lesley College (27-13).

            The four winners on Wednesday will advance to a double-elimination tourney Saturday and Sunday at the site of the highest remaining seed.

            Plymouth State earned the ECAC invitation after posting 22 wins this spring, the fourth-most in a season in school history.  PSU finished in fifth in the Little East Conference during the regular season, and registered a 1-2 record in the LEC Tournament.  The Panthers were the fifth seed in last year's ECAC Tournament, and were defeated in the first round at Western New England, 1-0 in nine innings.

            St. Joseph's earned a spot in the ECAC Tournament after finishing in second place in the Great Northeast Athletic Conference during the regular season placing runner-up in the GNAC Tournament.  The Monks went 2-2 in the tournament, with both losses to eventual champion Emerson College.

            This will be Plymouth State's seventh appearance in the ECAC post-season softball tournament.  PSU won the championship in its first appearance in 1985, and also captured the title in 2003.  The Panthers also played in the tournament in 1992, 1994, 2002, and 2008. 

-- 30 --