Header Background

PSU Alpine Skier qualifies for NCAA Championships

PSU Alpine Skier qualifies for NCAA Championships

Martin to represent Panthers in giant slalom and slalom

            PLYMOUTH, N.H. – A Plymouth State University alpine skier has qualified for the 2014 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Skiing Championships on Mar. 5 & 7 at Park City, Utah.

            Sophomore Max Martin (Salt Lake City, Utah) will become the first student-athlete in school history to compete at the NCAA Skiing Championships.  Martin will take to the slopes in the giant slalom event on Wednesday, Mar. 5, and the slalom race on Friday, Mar. 7.

            Plymouth State has a long history of skiing at national championships, competing in the National Collegiate Ski Association in the 1980s and the U.S. Collegiate Ski Association in the 1990s and 2000s. The Panthers have been aiming for a berth in the NCAAs since joining the Eastern Intercollegiate Ski Association (EISA) in 2012.

            Martin completed an outstanding sophomore season in the EISA.  He is ranked ninth in the EISA circuit in the giant slalom rankings with three top seven finishes among collegiate skiers (sixth at the University of Vermont Carnival, seventh at the Colby Carnival and fourth at the Williams College Carnival).

            "Max's qualification a huge step for the PSU Skiing program," said PSU head coach Andrew Gannon. "Max will be returning to what he considers his home hill -- Park City, where he trained and raced at Rowmark Ski Academy. He has had an outstanding season.  They way he has skied this winter, I have no doubt in my mind he will be ready to perform his best. He has started to peak at the right time."

            Martin will be competing against the top collegiate ski racers in the country, including Division I scholarship skiers, and skiers with World Cup and Olympic experience.  He is one of only 16 student-athletes from the Eastern U.S. who are joining 18 student-athletes from the West.

            "The NCAA Skiing Championships is one of the hardest competitions in collegiate sports to qualify for," said Gannon.  "There are so few spots, and so many great skiers (especially in the East) from a mix of Divisions I, II and III schools, it's an honor just to qualify."

            Martin will be accompanied on the trip to Utah by Gannon and assistant coach Parker Spear.

            This year's skiing championships will be webcast live on NCAA.com. Visit http://www.ncaa.com/liveschedule  to watch all the action. 

            PARTICIPANTS BY DISCIPLINE AND REGION (listed alphabetically by name):


East Region – Men

East Region – Women

Nick Bailey, Middlebury

Jeanne Barthold, Colby

Michael Boardman, Colby

Shannon Campbell, Williams

Dylan Brooks, Dartmouth

Katie Farrow, New Hampshire

Travis Dawson, Vermont

Abigail Fucigna, Dartmouth

Kevin Drury, Vermont

Mardene Haskell, Colby

Brad Farrell, St. Michael's

Maisie Ide, Dartmouth

Kris Hopkins, New Hampshire

Lizzie Kistler, Dartmouth

Max Martin, Plymouth State

Yina Moe-Lange, Middlebury

Chris McKenna, Middlebury

Rebecca Nadler, Harvard

Ben Morse, Dartmouth

Kristina Riis-Johannessen, Vermont

Jonathan Nordbotten, Vermont

Laura Rozinowicz, New Hampshire

Jay Ogle, New Hampshire

Kate Ryley, Vermont

Coley Oliver, New Hampshire

Elise Tefre, Vermont

Robert Overing, Dartmouth

Randa Teschner, New Hampshire

Hig Roberts, Middlebury

Allison Visconti, St. Lawrence

Graham Scott, St. Lawrence

Paige Whistler, Colby


West Region – Men

West Region – Women

Joergen Brath, Utah

Courtney Altringer, New Mexico

Sebastian Brigovic, Denver

Isabella Andreini, Alaska Anchorage

Mark Engel, Utah

Anna Berecz, Alaska Anchorage

Cedrik Gagnon, Alaska Anchorage

Vanessa Berther, Alaska Anchorage

Henrik Gunnarsson, Colorado

Tianda Carroll, Denver

Niko Harmanen, Alaska Anchorage

Emily Danza, Montana State

Andreas Haug, Colorado

Devin Delaney, Denver

Kasper Hietenen, Colorado

Chloe Fausa, Utah

Sean Horner, New Mexico

Thea Grosvold, Colorado

Espen Lysdahl, Denver

Kristine Haugen, Denver

Ryan McConnell, Montana State

Jessica Honkonen, Colorado

David Neuhauser, Montana State

Stephanie Irwin, Montana State

Hughston Norton, Alaska Anchorage

Ana Kobal, Utah

David Owsley, Montana State

Kelly McBroom, Montana State

Trevor Philip, Denver

Karoline Myklebust, New Mexico

Joonas Rasanen, New Mexico

Mateja Robnik, New Mexico

Armin Triendl, New Mexico

Kristiina Rove, Utah

Andy Trow, Utah

Brooke Wales, Colorado

-- 30 --