Header Background

PSC falls in overtime in Colby title game

WATERVILLE, Maine - Senior center Sarah Walsh (Catonsville, Md.) registered 33 points and 17 rebounds Saturday afternoon, leading the Colby College women's basketball team to a 105-97 overtime victory over Plymouth State College in the title game of the Colby Tip-Off Tournament.

Walsh, the tournament Most Valuable Player, scored eight of Colby's 20 points in a wild five-minute overtime session. She became the 10th Colby woman in history to reach 1,000 points for her career and now has 1,015. Walsh also set the Colby career steals record with 179.

The Mules set school records for points in a game and assists (30) in a game. Colby had scored 101 points against Bates in 1991-92 and had 28 assists in a contest twice.

Plymouth State got another strong performance from senior guard Whitney Morin (Derby Line, Vt.), who tallied 30 points, nine assists and six steals and was selected to the All-Tournament Team. She was one of five Panthers to score in double figures as PSC featured a balanced scoring attack.

Classmate Courtney Albert (Hudson, N.H.) added 18 points and five rebounds, Heather Adey (Nashua, N.H.) contributed 16 points and eight boards, point guard Jenn Pelletier (Derry, N.H.) pitched in with 15 points and eight assists, and junior Mandi Allen (Blue Hill, Maine) provided 10 points off the PSC bench for the second straight game.

In addition to Walsh's 33 points, Colby senior point guard Bianca Belcher (Lewiston, Maine) tossed in 30 points to go with eight rebounds and six assists to earn All-Tournament Team honors. Senior Christine O'Donnell (Salem, Mass.) had a double-double with 16 points and 11 assists, and nearly had a triple-double with eight rebounds. Sophomore Wendy Bonner (Lexington, Mass.) added 20 points for the Mules.

Colby led 44-34 at halftime before Plymouth State rallied to force overtime. The two teams combined for 60 assists in the game and each team was above 50 percent shooting from the field. Colby and Plymouth also combined for 62 turnovers in the fast-paced game.

Colby won its sixth annual tournament for the first time since 1997. PSC was denied its fourth consecutive season-opening championship after winning the MIT Tournament in 1999, the Colby Classic in 2000, and the Swarthmore (Pa.) Tip-Off Tourney in 2001.

PSC, 1-1, returns to action Tuesday (Nov. 26) with a non-conference contest at Castleton State (6:00 p.m.).