PSU Women’s Ice Hockey players earn NEHC honors

PSU Women’s Ice Hockey players earn NEHC honors

Thirteen Panthers named to All-Academic Team

            PLYMOUTH, N.H. – The New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) announced the All-Academic team recipients in the women's division for the 2018-19 season on Tuesday morning and 13 members of the Plymouth State University women's ice hockey team were among those to receive the honor.

             Earning recognition for the Panthers were seniors Hannah Elmer (Chicopee, Mass.), Taylor Jackson (St. Albans, Vt.), Mackenzie Kennedy (Brea, Calif.), Brooke Maggy (Los Angeles, Calif.), Kelsey Roy (Livermore, Colo.) and Tori Sanford (Greene, Maine), juniors Eleanor Hudson (Baltimore, Md.), Maddie Kabasakalian (Kent, Conn.), Sydney Linnick (Highlands Ranch, Colo.) and Alie Louie (Mount Laurel, N.J.) and sophomores Alex Rajsigl (Tecumseh, Ontario), Amber Thomas (Cornwall, Ontario) and Marykate Thompson (Glastonbury, Conn.).

            To be eligible for All-Academic recognition a student-athlete must carry a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.00 and have completed one full year at their current institution. Seven of the nine NEHC institutions were represented with 73 student-athletes in total earning the honor. Johnson & Wales University had the most individuals represented, with 15 recipients, while Salem State University had 14. PSU and the University of Massachusetts Boston were tied for the third-most with 13 honorees.

            Under third-year head coach Mykul Haun, Plymouth State finished the year with a 7-15-4 mark and went 5-7-4 in NEHC play. The Panthers reached the postseason for a program-record fourth straight year, but fell at Castleton in a quarterfinal game, 2-1.




– 30 –