PSC Women's Lax wins sixth in a row in regular season finale

PLYMOUTH, N.H. - The Plymouth State College women's lacrosse team completed the regular season Sunday at Arold Field by defeating Endicott College, 12-4, to earn its third straight Northern Division title and the top seed in this week's New England Women's Lacrosse Alliance Tournament.

Junior Chrystn Pitt (Freeport, Maine) and sophomore Brooke Smith (Columbia, SC) each scored three goals to lead the Panthers past Endicott. Sophomore Robin Hartman (Santa Maria, Cal.) contributed two goals and two assists, and Janet Conner (South Freeport, Maine), Faith Wahlen (Hampstead, NH), Heather Adey (Nashua, NH) and Marcia Wood (Sanford, Maine) each added a goal.

The Panthers led 8-0 before Endicott got on the board in the final minute of the first half on a goal by junior Deana Ward to make it 8-1 at the break. PSC scored twice in the opening minutes of the second half and cruised the rest off the way. The Power Gulls got three second-half goals from Kristy Katz, Beth Adam and Kim Neumann.

Freshman Lindsey Breda (Londonderry, NH) made 15 saves for PSC in her second straight start. Endicott's Allison Cummings was credited with 12 saves.

The win was the Panthers' sixth in a row, and improved them to 12-3 overall and 7-0 in the Northern Division of NEWLA. Endicott finishes the regular season at 8-4 overall and 4-3 in the Northern Division. PSC is 20-1 in divisional games in the three years of NEWLA, with three regular season titles.

The Panthers will be the top seed in the division in the NEWLA Tournament, and will see familiar faces in the opening round on Tuesday at Arold Field. The fourth seed is Endicott, who will make a return trip to Plymouth for a 4 p.m. encounter, with second seed University of New England hosting third seed New England College in the other divisional semi-final.

Tuesday's two winners will meet Thursday at the site of the higher remaining seed for the divisional crown, with Thursday's winner to host the Southern Division winner for the NEWLA Championship on Saturday. The NEWLA champion receives an automatic bid to the Division III NCAA Championship Tournament.

-- 30 --