Header Background

Annual NEWLA Honors for PSC Women's Lax players

PLYMOUTH, N.H. - Several members of Plymouth State College's women's lacrosse team were recognized for their outstanding season with selections to the New England Women's Lacrosse Alliance All-Star Team.

The top honor went to senior defender Jess Shapiro (Windsor Locks, Conn.), who was named NEWLA Defensive Player of the Year. She was joined on the All-Alliance Team by senior defender Jenn Hilbert (Lyme, NH) and senior midfielder Faith Wahlen (Hampstead, NH).

In addition, those three Panthers were joined by senior attacker Amanda Beedy (New Hampton, NH) on the NEWLA All-Northern Division Team, and second-year head coach Abby Burbank was tabbed NEWLA Coach of the Year.

The PSC honorees represent the leaders of a Panther team that completed the best season in school history. Plymouth State won its first NEWLA Championship, received the first NCAA Tournament bid in the program's history, and finished with a record 15 wins and an overall record of 15-4.

Shapiro and Hilbert were defensive stalwarts for the Panthers, who allowed an average of just 9.26 goals a game and kept 12 opponents to less than 10 goals. Shapiro was third on the team with 50 grounds balls and fourth with 17 caused turnovers. They were two of the four defenders on the All-NEWLA Team.

Wahlen led the Panthers in scoring with 38 goals, 25 assists and 63 points. The senior midfielder provided more than just offense, recording 57 ground balls and 19 caused turnovers. A defender her first two seasons of lacrosse, Wahlen became an offensive player and finished her career with 62 goals, 35 assists and 97 points, which ranks 10th on the school's all-time scoring list.

Beedy also wrapped up her career as one of PSC's all-time scoring leaders. She was third on the team in scoring this spring with 31 goals and three assists. A three-year starter after transferring from New England College, she finished her Panther career with 103 goals, 33 assists and 136 points, sixth on the career scoring list.

Burbank, who also coaches PSC's field hockey team, guided the Panthers to their third straight NEWLA divisional title, the NEWLA Tournament title, and an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

-- 30 --