Plymouth State Women’s Lacrosse named IWLCA Academic Honor Squad

Plymouth State Women’s Lacrosse named IWLCA Academic Honor Squad

Seven Panthers named to Academic Honor Roll

            PLYMOUTH, N.H. – The Plymouth State University women's lacrosse team was one of 339 schools across NCAA Division I, II, III and NAIA named as Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Zag Sports Academic Honor Squads for the 2017-18 academic year, the IWLCA office announced today.

            To qualify, a team must have posted a 3.00 or higher team GPA for the academic year. PSU, which sported a 3.43 combined team GPA, was one of three Little East Conference (LEC) schools to be recognized, joining Eastern Connecticut State and Southern Maine. PSU has been named an Honor Squad in six of the last seven years.

            Additionally, seven members of the team were also recognized with inclusion on the IWLCA Zag Sports Division III Academic Honor Roll; juniors Laura Harrington (Northborough, Mass.), Julia Rankin (Haverhill, Mass.), Emily Sauls (North Andover, Mass.), Sarah Thompson (Hooksett, N.H.), Emilee Wargo (Madison, Conn.) and Kimberly Zuccaro (Townsend, Mass.) and senior Megan Tingley (Natick, Mass.). To be eligible for the Academic Honor Roll an athlete must be at least a junior and have earned a cumulative GPA of a 3.50 or better. The seven Panthers were part of a total of 639 student-athletes from 189 different institutions to achieve the honor.

            "It's wonderful to see the team and so many individual members recognized for their academic accomplishments," said second-year head coach Sandy Bridgeman. "It takes great effort to excel in the classroom and on the field and these women have done it on a consistent basis. They take tremendous pride in being Plymouth State student-athletes."

            The Panthers finished the 2018 campaign with a 14-4 mark, including an undefeated run through Little East competition and an 11-game winning streak. PSU won the LEC Championship to advance to the NCAA Tournament for the second straight year before falling to #17 SUNY Cortland in the first round.

            A complete list of all 339 Honor Squads and 639 Honor Roll members is available at the IWLCA website,



– 30 –