PSU Women’s Lacrosse tabbed IWLCA Academic Squad

PSU Women’s Lacrosse tabbed IWLCA Academic Squad

Eight Panthers named to DIII Academic Honor Roll

            PLYMOUTH, N.H. – The Plymouth State University women's lacrosse team and eight individual student-athletes were among those to be honored by the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) as the organization announced its 2019 Academic Squads and Honor Roll recipients.

            Plymouth State has earned IWLCA Academic Squad recognition for seven of the last eight years. To qualify a program must have posted a minimum 3.00 team GPA for the most recent academic year. The Panthers easily topped that threshold, finishing the academic year with a 3.56 mark.

            Additionally, eight individual team members were named to the IWLCA Division III Academic Honor Roll; seniors Julia Rankin (Haverhill, Mass.), Sarah Thompson (Hooksett, N.H.), Emilee Wargo (Madison, Conn.) and Kimberly Zuccaro (Townsend, Mass.) and juniors Sydney Dubois (Goffstown, N.H.), Jewelia Durant (Madbury, N.H.), Bri Flanagan (Manchester, N.H.) and Sarah Jackes (Londonderry, N.H.). To be eligible for the Academic Honor Roll, student-athletes must be a junior, senior or graduate student and have earned a cumulative GPA of 3.50 or greater.

            The eight honorees are the most for the Panthers in program history, topping the seven student-athletes that earned the recognition in 2018. Rankin, Thompson, Wargo and Zuccaro are all two-time honorees.

"We are proud of the entire squad and, in particular, these eight individuals for receiving recognition for their academic achievement," said third-year head coach Sandy Bridgeman. "It is truly reflective of their diligence to excel both on the field and in the classroom. They are wonderful representatives of the Plymouth State women's lacrosse program."

            The eight Academic Honor Roll selections were the most of any Little East Conference (LEC) program, as Castleton University (five), Western Connecticut State University (four) and Eastern Connecticut State University (two) also had student-athletes honored. The Panthers were joined by University of Southern Maine and WestConn as Academic Squads.

           The Panthers captured an LEC-record eighth conference championship and blew past New England College, 19-3, in the opening round of the NCAA Tournament to reach the second round for the second time in program history (2004). The 19 goals scored were the most for Plymouth State in tournament history. PSU fell to #4 Tufts University in the second round to end its season with a 12-6 mark.



– 30 –