PSU Women’s Swimming & Diving falls at UMass Dartmouth

PSU Women’s Swimming & Diving falls at UMass Dartmouth

Svetin wins twice as Panthers set sights on LEC Championships 

            DARTMOUTH, Mass. – Sophomore Madelin Svetin (Topsham, Maine) won a pair of events to lead Plymouth State University in a 162-107 setback at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth in a women's swimming and diving dual meet at the Tripp Athletic Center on Saturday afternoon.

            Svetin topped the field in the 100-yard butterfly and 100-yard backstroke, while junior Cammie Turell (Bowie, Md.) won the 50-yard butterfly and freshman Jessica McGregor (New Boston, N.H.) took the 50-yard freestyle.

            PSU ends the year with a 6-3 mark in dual meets, the second most in the last decade, and now looks ahead to the Little East Conference (LEC) Championship next Saturday (Feb. 1) back at UMass Dartmouth. The Corsairs move to 4-6.


            The Basics:

            Plymouth State 107, UMass Dartmouth 162


            Plymouth State (6-3)

            UMass Dartmouth (4-6)


            How it Happened:

  • Svetin led the way in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 1:08.08, while also capturing the 100-yard backstroke in 1:05.08.
  • Turell won the 50-yard butterfly in 29.06 and was second in the 50-yard backstroke (32.74), 100-yard IM (1:08.78).
  • McGregor was first to touch the wall in the 50-yard freestyle (27.99) and added a second-place finish in the 200-yard breaststroke with a season-best time of 1:19.58.
  • Sophomore Ellie Wilson (Darnestown, Md.) was second in the 50-yard breaststroke (37.96), with freshman MacKenzie Brady (Rochester, N.H.) also earning a second-place finish in the 500-yard freestyle (6:03.69).


            Teaming Up:

  • Brady, Svetin, sophomore Liz O'Sullivan (Bow, N.H.) and senior Casey Allaire (Mattapoisett, Mass.) joined forces to take second in the 200-yard freestyle relay with a time of 2:02.61.


            Up Next:

  • Plymouth State heads back to UMass Dartmouth next Saturday (Feb. 1) for the LEC Championships.



– 30 –