Header Background

PSC to host LEC Women's Tennis Championships

PLYMOUTH, N.H. - The varsity courts adjacent to the Physical Education Center at Plymouth State College will be the site this weekend of the Sixth Annual Little East Conference Women's Tennis Championships Tournament.

The Panthers will host the five other LEC schools that sponsor women's tennis in a two-day affair Saturday and Sunday (Oct. 16-17). Three-time defending champion University of Massachusetts Dartmouth looks like the team to beat, but will be challenged by UMass Boston, Plymouth State, Rhode Island College, the University of Southern Maine, and Western Connecticut State University.

The action begins Saturday at 12 noon with three flights of doubles competition, followed by semi-final and consolation rounds. The six flights of first-round singles matches are slated to begin Saturday at 3 p.m. Sunday's action starts with singles semi-finals and consolation matches at 9 a.m. The doubles finals are set for 11 a.m. Sunday, with the singles finals at 1 p.m. and the awards ceremony scheduled for 3 p.m.

Inclement weather would force the competition indoors to the Fieldhouse in the P.E. Center.

Guided by second-year head coach Judy Switzer, Plymouth State is looking for a strong finish after what has been a disappointing dual match season. The Panthers, who have a very young team with no seniors and two-thirds of the roster freshmen and sophomores, have a 2-9 record heading into the final dual match of the season Wednesday (Oct. 13) against Colby-Sawyer.

The Panthers are led by freshman Sadie Roy (Lewiston, Maine), who has played No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles for PSC all season. She has posted just a 3-8 singles record in the difficult No. 1 position, but last week she knocked off Southern Maine's Suzanne deGolian, who is a two-time LEC No. 1 singles champion (1996 & 1997).

UMass Dartmouth's Kelly Berger captured the LEC No. 1 singles title last season, and teamed with Mary Bourque to claim the No. 1 doubles crown. The Corsairs earned their third straight team championship after RIC won the first two titles in 1994 and 1995.

-- 30 --