PSU Women’s Tennis earns multiple LEC honors

PSU Women’s Tennis earns multiple LEC honors

Winter named Rookie of the Year

            PLYMOUTH, N.H. – Plymouth State University freshman Sage Winter (New Castle, N.H.) was selected as the Rookie of the Year on Tuesday afternoon as the Little East Conference announced the 2017 Women's Tennis Major Awards and All-Conference recipients.

            Winter becomes just the third Panther to take home Rookie of the Year honors, joining Sara Burke (2009) and Zara Jakubas (2014), though Jakubas won as a transfer junior.

            "Sage is an extremely talented player," said head coach Barbara Rawlsky-Willett. "With continued hard work and commitment she will be able to reach her full potential in the next three years. Her mental presence on the court is beyond her years and will serve her well in the future. I look forward to seeing her grow!"

            Winter was also recognized with All-LEC First Team honors in singles play, while classmate Jenna Sundquist (Monument Beach, Mass.) was honored with All-LEC Second Team recognition in singles play.

            Sundquist and freshman Chloe Knapp (Jamestown, N.Y.) were also voted to the All-LEC Second Team at No. 3 doubles.

            Winter enjoyed a strong rookie campaign while competing at No. 1 singles in 11 of her 12 matches this fall. The 5-8 powerhouse sported a 6-6 overall mark, and went 3-4 at the top singles spot in LEC matches.     

            Sundquist went 8-4 in singles play, including 4-2 in LEC matches, and spent time at No. 2, No. 3 and No. 4 singles, though she spent most of the year at No. 5 where she posted a 5-1 mark.

            The tandem of Sundquist and Knapp was unstoppable at No. 3 doubles. The pair teamed up to go a perfect 9-0, including 5-0 in league play.

            The Panthers finished the season with a 10-5 mark, and went 5-3 in LEC play to earn the #4 seed for the LEC Tournament. PSU was upset at home by #5 Worcester State for the second straight season, though the future certainly looks bright for Rawlsky-Willett's program. The veteran coach, who just completed her 14th year at the helm, is expected to return her entire roster next fall.

            "There are no seniors on this year's team," she added. "I am proud to see growth in every one of the players this year. The best is yet to come."


 Little East Conference

2017 Women's Tennis Major Award Winners


Player of the Year     Dayna Reilly, Rhode Island College

Rookie of the Year    Sage Winter, Plymouth State University

Coach of the Year     Adam Spring, Rhode Island College



All-Conference Teams – Singles

First Team

Dayna Reilly, Rhode Island College

Kristy Garcia, UMass Boston

Emma Chapman, Western Connecticut

Grace Zangari, Rhode Island College

Sage Winter, Plymouth State

Jenna Lahaie, UMass Dartmouth


Second Team

Bojana Roman, Bridgewater State

Alisha Silva, Bridgewater State

Carole Allers, Western Connecticut

Nathalie Khafaga, Worcester State

Jenna Sundquist, Plymouth State

Katherine Braganca, Rhode Island College



All-Conference Teams – Doubles

First Team

Emma Chapman / Carole Allers, Western Connecticut

Kristy Garcia / Katie Gauthier, UMass Boston

Bojana Roman / Alison Scagnelli, Bridgewater State


Second Team

Jenna Lahaie / Jaime Fastino, UMass Dartmouth

Dayna Reilly / Laurel Ten Eyck, Rhode Island College

Jenna Sundquist / Chloe Knapp, Plymouth State


– 30 –