PSU Women’s Tennis earns ITA All-Academic Honors

PSU Women’s Tennis earns ITA All-Academic Honors

Five Panthers also named Scholar-Athletes

            PLYMOUTH, N.H. – The Plymouth State University women's tennis team and five individual members were recognized by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) on Wednesday as the organization announced its 2018 All-Academic Teams and Scholar-Athletes.

            Plymouth State, under the direction of veteran coach Barbara Rawlsky-Willett, was one of 735 schools across all five divisions of college tennis (NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA and JUCO, including both men's and women's programs) to be honored, earning the recognition for the fourth-straight year.

            The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program with a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or better. All varsity letter winners were factored into the cumulative team GPA for the most recent academic year (including fall 2017 and spring 2018).

            Additionally, five members of the squad also earned ITA Scholar-Athlete status; juniors Irene Kigugu (Concord, N.H.) and Megan Wheeler (Manchester, N.H.), and freshmen Emily Hill (New Hartford, Conn.), Maggie McCarthy (Marion, Mass.) and Jenna Sundquist (Monument Beach, Mass.). Kigugu is a two-time honoree.

            In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a student-athlete must meet the following criteria: be a varsity letter winner, have a GPA of at least 3.50 for the current academic year, and have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters.

            "I am so very proud of the players and what they have accomplished this year," said Rawlsky-Willett. "They are the true embodiment of what a Division III athlete is; one who works hard and is successful both on and off the court."

            The Panthers finished last fall with a 10-5 mark, matching the second most wins in a season in program history. PSU went 5-3 in LEC play to earn the fourth seed for the LEC Tournament, but was upset by fifth-seeded Worcester State in the first round.

            A complete list of All-Academic Teams and Scholar-Athletes is available at the ITA website,



– 30 –