Header Background

PSU Volleyball player named All-New England

            The New England Women's Volleyball Association has announced the 2009 All-New England Teams, comprised of the top Division III women's volleyball players in the region.

            Tufts University senior Dena Feiger (Long Grove, Ill.) received the top honor, earning 2009 NEWVA Player of the Year. The 5-6 setter has guided Tufts into the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament averaging over 11 assists per set. She was also recently named to the AVCA All-New England Region Team and was named New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) Player of the Year.

Eliza Badeau             Players from 13 different institutions earned a spot on the prestigious teams. Joining Feiger on the NEWVA All-New England First Team are Plymouth State's Eliza Badeau (Foster, R.I.) (right), Williams College teammates Kate Anderson (Berlin, Mass.) and Nicole Ballon-Landa (La Jolla, Calif.), Springfield's Heather Lively (Royalston, Mass.), MIT's Alex May (Des Moines, Iowa) and UMass-Boston's Kate McWhorter (Bakersfield, Calif.).

            The complete rosters of the first, second and honorable mention teams are listed below, as well as the 2009 NEWVA Rookie of the Year. That honor was awarded to Shannon Thompson (Moorpark, Calif.) from UMass-Boston. Thompson averaged 3.44 kills per set along with a .338 hitting percentage in her freshman year. She chipped in 2.54 digs per set and was recently named to the AVCA All-New England Region Team and was named Little East Conference (LEC) Rookie of the Year.

            NEWVA also announced UMass-Boston's Terry Condon as its Coach of the Year. Condon led the Beacons to their first ever LEC Championship this season, earning the program's first-ever berth into the NCAA Tournament. In just five years, she has become the program's all-time winningest coach, including 30 wins this season. She was also recently named AVCA All-New England Coach of the Year.

            Award winners were selected by a vote of all participating member head coaches following the nomination process. Established nearly 25 years ago, the New England Women's Volleyball Association is open to all collegiate institutions in New England sponsoring Division III women's volleyball. Membership has grown to more than 60 members in 2009, representing eight conferences. For all of the latest news and information surrounding New England Division III volleyball, visit the official NEWVA website, www.newvad3.com

Listed below are the 2009 NEWVA All-New England Teams. 

2009 NEWVA ALL-New England Teams

(players listed alphabetically)

1st Team

Kate Anderson                        Williams                              Berlin, MA

Eliza Badeau                           Plymouth State                   Foster, RI

Nicole Ballon-Landa                Williams                              La Jolla, CA

Dena Feiger                            Tufts                                   Long Grove, IL

Heather Lively                         Springfield                          Royalston, MA

Alex May                                 MIT                                     Des Moines, IA

Kate McWhorter                     UMass Boston                    Bakersfield, CA

2nd Team

Emily Avis                               Williams                              Palo Alto, CA

Barden Cleeland                     MIT                                     Irvine, CA

Alice Cummings                     Wellesley                            Tallahassee, FL

Jane Handel                            Middlebury                          Evanston, IL

Dawson Joyce-Mendive         Tufts                                   Minden, NV

Amy Newman                         Conn. College                     Los Angeles, CA

Caitlin Updike                          Tufts                                   Manhattan Beach, CA

Honorable Mention 

Catherine Bravo                      Johnson & Wales               Toa Boya, Puerto Rico

Marissa DeMais                      Conn. College                     Hillsdale, NJ

Cassy Hanneman                   UMass - Boston                 Denver, CO

Ruby Hernandez                     Wesleyan                            West Palm Beach, FL

Becca Stein                            Western Connecticut          Kingston, NY

Shannon Thompson               UMass Boston                    Moorpark, CA

Lauren Zaniboni                      Emerson                             San Diego, CA


Player of the Year -              Dena Feiger                        Tufts

Rookie of the Year -             Shannon Thompson           UMass Boston

Coach of the Year -                Terry Condon                     UMass Boston