Plymouth State Volleyball releases 2019 schedule

Plymouth State Volleyball releases 2019 schedule

Plymouth State Volleyball releases 2019 schedule

            PLYMOUTH, N.H. – The Plymouth State University women's volleyball team has announced its complete schedule for the 2019 season. The Panthers kick off the 34-game schedule, which includes an eight-match Little East Conference (LEC) slate, on Friday, Sept. 2.


Leading the Charge:

  • Head coach Joan Forge begins her second season patrolling the sidelines for the Panthers. She led the team to a thrilling five-set win in the season finale a year ago to clinch a spot in the LEC Tournament for a 23rd consecutive year.

Key Dates:

  • Friday, Aug. 30 vs. St. Michael's at Best Western Plus-Ground Round Cardinal Classic hosted by SUNY Plattsburgh – Season opener
  • Friday, Sept. 6 vs. Elmira – Home opener
  • Saturday, Sept. 28 vs. UMass Dartmouth – LEC opener / Lace Up for Pediatric Cancer
  • Saturday, Oct. 12 vs. Rhode Island College – Pink Game
  • Wednesday, Oct. 16 vs. Keene State – Rivalry game
  • Saturday, Oct. 26 vs. Castleton – Senior Day
  • Tuesday, Oct. 29 at Middlebury

Strength of Schedule:

  • Middlebury College, which finished last season ranked tenth in the New England region, represents PSU's lone ranked opponent from last fall.

Location Breakdown:

  • 15 home games
  • Ten road games
  • Nine neutral site games


  • Best Western Plus-Ground Round Cardinal Classic at SUNY Plattsburgh – Aug. 30 & 31
  • Granite State Challenge at Plymouth State and Keene State – Sept. 6 & 7
  • LEC Tournament – Nov. 5, 7 & 9

Looking Back:

  • PSU finished 3-5 in the LEC last season and earned the sixth seed for the LEC Tournament. The Panthers were knocked out in straight sets by third-seeded Keene State.

LEC Notes:

  • Eastern Connecticut and UMass Boston shared the regular season title with identical 7-1 conference records, but the Warriors cruised through the LEC Tournament to claim the championship.
  • The winner of the six-team LEC Tournament will earn the conference's automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament.         


– 30 –